26 Customer Reviews (4.6 out of 5 stars): Sign in to write a review

R. Gollata
Customer Review 1/1/2015

Last Thursday morning I ordered a wood lathe with digital readout from Grizzly, Model G0462. It arrived 4 business days later. Good job Grizzly! I had the neighbor come over and help put it together. Although the box was a little torn, everything was fine except for a chip in the paint on one leg. I am learning to make plates/bowls on a lathe . My instructor came over last night to look it over and he really liked it. He said I got a lot of machine for the money I spent and the quality looked good. Thank you very much. I have to clean it up today before I can try it out. I am sure that I will be using it for a long time. Thank you Grizzly for a good quality machine and a great price.

D. Turner
Customer Review 1/1/2015

I just wanted to let you all know how much I like my new lathe (G0462 Wood Lathe With Digital Readout). This machine is AWESOME! Right out of the crateit worked perfectly. I will gladly tell everyone I know about it.

Thanks.

SAM
PHOENIX, AZ
BETTER THAN EXPECTED 12/16/2015

ONE GREAT LATHE. FIRST EFFORT AT TURNING AND SPENT SEVERAL MONTHS CHASING PRODUCT INFORMATION. MY ADVICE IS NEVER FOOL WITH A LATHE THAT DOES NOT HAVE VARIABLE SPEED ADJUSTMENT. THIS IS GREAT. FIND THE TOOL REST DIFFICULT DUE TO ITS LENGTH. THAT'S BECAUSE I'M NEW TO ALL THIS AND WILL MOVE ON TO LONGER STOCK SOON.

Joiner Turner
Longwood, Fl.
Great Product! Excellent value! 1/29/2016

Fast shipping and well shipped in a wooden crate. Super easy assembly. I had it up and running in a little under an hour by myself. It runs smooth, has plenty of power, changes gears very smoothly and doesn't bog down with large legs. I can now work at my own pace again. I'm very satisfied with this lathe both in value and functionality. Great Job Grizzly! Indexing would have been nice as well as forward and reverse but I can work around that.

Dogislander
Guemes Island, WA
My First Lathe 1/29/2016

I must have spent 3 years researching lathes before buying this one as my first lathe. After 2 years, I can say that it was an excellent choice. This lathe is durable, reliable, and solid as a rock. To improve stability for odd shaped projects I filled a gunny sack with sand to add extra weight to the base. My neighbor is an expert wood turner and owns a top-of-the-line lathe. After a lesson with him, I can return to my Grizzly lathe and resume turning with virtually zero noticeable difference. The only suggestion that I would make concerning my Grizzly lathe is that the low-end turning speed be lessened from a minimum of 600 rpm to around 300 rpm. This would make the roughing out process easier. Nonetheless, I have roughed out bowls close to 12" in diameter with very little difficulty. Thanks Grizzly for creating a tool that has led to a lifetime hobby!

Bob
South Louisiana
Happy to spend my hard earned money with this company 2/24/2016

I ordered this machine Late Thursday night online, Then Friday night when I checked my email I had received and email saying my lathe had been shipped!! And it this wasn't just one of those generic emails stating they received my order, I was provided the tracking number, So I figured I'd track it just to see what the expected delivery date they were showing, the shipment was already loaded on a truck heading my way(Less than 24 hours!!!), with a delivery date being Tuesday 2/23/2016, By this time I was pretty impressed by the speed of the transaction so far. I didn't bother checking the status of the order at all over the weekend but Monday morning 2/22/2016 around 8:00 am I decided to check it (only because I was impressed with the speed of shipping so far) As I'm looking at the freight company's web site I received a phone call with a gentleman telling me my freight was on the loading dock at my local terminal ready for me to pick up!! By 10:00 am Monday I was making sawdust in my shop!! The lathe was shipped from Grizzly's Springfield, MO location to as far south in Louisiana as a human can travel This may not seen like a big deal to some of you but I personally think this is absolutely Superb customer service on Grizzly's part ! The machine arrived it a very nicely packed crate with minimal assembly required. The quality and ease of operation of the lathe far exceeded my expectations, Nowhere else in this country will a person receive this type of excellent customer service an quality at very affordable price Grizzly has earned a new lifetime customer with this transaction I have purchased a shop full of tools over the past 2 years from Grizzly with all transactions very comparable to this one ( although this one being the fastest to date so far ) the Grizzly company truly puts customer needs ahead of everything I have never written any type of review for anything I ever purchased online but when I purchase any item online I read lots of reviews before I go through with it, So this short book I've written about my experience with Grizzly is a small token of my appreciation for the perfection in customer service and product quality I've received from this company over the past 2 years keep up the good work Grizzly your hard work and focus on customer satisfaction Is impressively appreciated !

Unsatisfied with Grizzly
Jacksonville Florida
Poor return policy and customer service 6/14/2016

Ordered April 7 along with a chuck and other accessories. Grizzly said shipment was back ordered and expected it to ship May 19. Lathe didn't arrive until May 27. Accessories didn't arrive until May 31 so could not use the lath. Since the accessories didn't arrive on time I purchased replacements from Woodcraft so I could use the Lathe and decided to return the late items. One of the items was plastic and the package wasn't padded enough so the chuck destroyed the plastic item. Upon the return Grizzly wanted a 10% restocking fee which is ridiculous since I just spent $800 plus on their products. They said they wouldn't charge 10% for the $5.50 plastic piece but would have to on the other accessories since nothing was wrong with them other than late. The lath itself is fine for the price however I would not recommend Grizzly due to their poor return policy and customer service. I am getting ready to buy a 14" bandsaw and was going to buy the Grizzly however after their horrible service I will be buying the Laguna. Plus it has better reviews for resaw.

q-maximus
Atlanta, GA
Very good machine for the price 7/7/2016

I've had this lathe for 4 years now, since I bought it I joined a woodturning club. The lathe has served me well and I've enjoyed it thoroughly. It's a great price for a very good lathe. If you think you want to get into woodturning as a serious hobby you may consider one the higher-end lathes. This lathe, however, will start you off very well. For $700 you can't beat this lathe. Having said that - my wish list (and now I'm looking at G0766 or G0799 as an ADDITION - NOT a replacement!) for a lathe now includes:
-Lower spindle speeds (200-300 RPM)
-Reversing spindle direction
-Manual spindle rotation on outside of headstock
-Electronic speed adjustment
Having said this - if you're a hobbyist this is a great lathe. I've made bowls, hollow forms, segmented work peppermills, wine stoppers, pens, etc. on this lathe and have been very happy with it. I think I'm ready to step up - but will stay with Grizzly.
As far as maintenance - I've replaced drive belt twice and motor pulley set once and Tool rest body once (it cracked). I've accumulated lots of other accessories too - chucks, faceplates, turning tools, finishes, etc.
Keep in mind, when you buy your lathe you'll spend that dollar amount again on tools for it!
In summary:
A good intro lathe that is a workhorse, is solid and will serve you very well.
For the price it really can't be beat unless you buy a mini somewhere with a couple of the other features - but losing the size and stability of this machine.

Ed Chad
Ellijay, Ga.
Great machine in this price range! 7/18/2016

Firstoff as a recently retired 42 year veteran Tool Maker and Mfg Engineer in the metal working business, Im a hard man to please. Ive designed, proto-typed, machined metal parts and even built entire machines of many types, including aircraft, machine tool, firearm and the medical industries. I am also an avid researcher. While looking at the reviews on this machine, everywhere I could look, I saw very mixed reviews. Of course I took the time and analyzed the best and worst. A lot of the 'bad' reviews I came across, well, were ridiculous. You cannot run the Indy 500 in a Chevette .................. nor will you turn a 20" bowl with this machine without issues. You get the drift.

I looked at several companies and lathes before pulling the trigger on this one. First, the size, swing and length fit what I wanted one for. I did not buy it to turn 20" bowls nor did I expect it to turn telephone pole size work pieces.
What I HAVE been doing successfully is turning (so far) up to 10" or so bowls, table legs, and other smaller spindle type pcs with no problem.
Do I wish it had a slower speed for roughing?? Of course. But Ive had no problems. With the spindle/pulley design, which is better than changing belts/pulleys for different speeds, I suspect very much lower RPM would lose torque pretty quickly.
Have I had any problems? Yes. Ive had some minor issues that Vince and the Support team have quickly taken care of and I'll say one thing, these folks have World Class Customer Support and I thank them.
One last comment. I would challenge anyone to find a better value, in this price range, for a lathe.
Dont buy it expecting it to do way over its capacity and what it was designed for and I think you will be pleased.

Good lathe 1/26/2017

The lathe workers exactly as stated. Works perfect for the 4 or 5 projects I have done so far. I'm not using it to run a business from, just hobby work, and it's great for that.

Nice Lathe... Packed for shipping like I've never seen before... 1/26/2017

only thing... in the description of Item they should be up front about shipping. My box was like 350-ish pounds. If my location wouldn't support a full sized Tractor Trailer for delivery... then I would have to pick it up from the Trucking terminal. Truck Driver DOES NOT HELP with unloading. If you want a truck to come with a power tailgate... it's $35 extra. Trucking terminal said no power tailgate truck available... and No big trucks allowed in my area. I'm 64 with bad knees. I almost cancelled the order account of this.\r\nMy trucking terminal told me by phone (I called them) they would load it into the back of my pickup truck. So that's what I did. At home... I busted the crate open in the back of the truck and took it inside 1 piece at a time. The motor piece was a little heavy but I managed. Other than that... I'm happy with Grizzly. But my next purchase will be iffy... if it's a heavy item.

Good machine for the price...solid! 1/26/2017

Good lathe except for the tailstock design which limits the spindle length that can be turned. Also, a shorter tool rest should be included or offered as an accessory. I like the head stock features for outboard turning.

1/26/2017

Works great.I have to machine tool holder posts that didn't come with it,or drill out the hole in the bango to 1".Still glad I bought it

Raymond H
Great Value. 1/26/2017

The cast iron legs and rails really add to the stability of the product. At this stage of my turning it is exactly what I was looking for.

Lon L
1/26/2017

I have not had a great deal of time to use the lathe yet, but it is very well made and the material it is made of makes it very stable and smooth running.

Franklin B
1/26/2017

I am a hobbiest wood worker, this lathe is perfect for what I needed.

1/27/2017

I actually bought several products...wood lathe.14in band saw with mobile stand..wet sander...very quick delivery on all products...also talked to cust. service before each purchase and it was a pleasure to speak to your support personnel who could answer each question I had concerning the products...I also bought some woodworking tools...have used all these products..have had no problems with setup and I have enjoyed using all of them..good job!

Donna P
Love it ! 1/27/2017

The Lathe is much larger and heavier than I thought! Very nice !

Aakash P
Clinton, New Jersey
Benefits and Drawbacks to this specific machine 1/29/2017

I bought this machine around 2 years ago which gives me enough time to write an accurate review. I first want to say that this is an EXCELLENT machine if you are interested in getting into turning and want to start with a full size lathe. This also comes at a cost however. If you are likely interested in bowl turning, as I was, this lathe goes as slow as 600 RPM when new and since the belt is a little worn on mine, hovers around 650 which is way too fast to turn pieces that are much larger than 10 inches if they are not extremelly balanced otherwise you might end up chasing the mahcine around the shop. Perhaps for this reason, it might be advisable to go with the 12" Mini Lathe that Grizzly offers which has a variable speed control which is a huge plus for safety and as an added bonus is also fairly convenient to use as well. When buying this lathe I did not really consider a variable speed lathe because I thought 600 RPM would be slow enough and experience has taught me otherwise. To compensate for all the movement I used a couple of 2X4's to let me stack a few sandbags which adds about 200lb of weight to the machine which seems to help dampen the vibration a little but the best way to do it is with good speed control. I also tend to use very hefy 2" WOOD SCREWS when securing large blanks because I can safetly reuse the screws and never have to worry about them snapping. This product does everything that it advertises and runs well without problems. A lot of my problems arose from my failure to apprehend the type of machine I was buying. Regardless, I would certainly recommend this machine for anyone interested in buying a lathe but as you become more experienced, you will demand more of it, as I did, and slowly realize that this machine may lack in a few niche situations. Regardless, I don't usually have regular access to 15" bowl blanks that are 6-7" thick, so this is not a regular problem I run into. Another thing I might mention is that the curviture of the tailstock to the left (look at photo) has a tendency to limit your tool rest when turning small spindles or large bowls where you do not have much room to move the banjo (again, a very niche situation). Anyway, I hope this was helpful and I urge you to start turning!

Josh G
Awesome tool 1/29/2017

For the lower end of the lathe spectrum, this tool has a lot of power. I've been running mine for over a month now and it has only gotten better as it brakes in

1/30/2017

I bought it 2 months ago after looking at several other machines. I haven't had a chance to use it yet but setup was a piece of cake. I have a whole shop full of Grizzly tools a have full confidence that it will stand up to my needs !

Great product for the price. 2/7/2017

I bought my G0462 Lathe 1 1/2 months ago. I have been learning on a Jett Mini lathe and needed to step up to something bigger. Would have loved to have gotten the G0632Z, or even the G0766, but alas just too much for my hobby budget. For the price the GO462 has been well worth it. It would be nice to have a 3 phase dial speed control but the "Shift-on-fly" system is fine and I don't really need the accuracy of digital control at this point anyway. I've roughed out about 20-30 bowls 8-10" dia. from wet wood. What a dream to watch the shavings peel off like butter. I've finished about 6 smaller bowls and it's so nice to have a bigger and more solid machine to work on. I've played with the outboard feature a bit and like the ability to work on hollowing out the bowl with it facing more toward me. It's a solid machine with plenty of torque. \r\n\r\nHere's my downsides. It would really be nice to have a lock on the head stock. Mounting and removing wood from my Nova G3 screw chuck is a challenge because there is no way to hold the headstock secure. I would mount a Flywheel on the opposite side of the headstock if I could, (like i have on my JETT mini) but I don't see any way to do that. Also, the tail stock locks down secure to the base, but when I turn the live tail into the wood the base tends to slide to the right. I think this is a design issue. Oh, also I've pinched my finger a couple times changing the speed where the handle connects to the shaft. No big deal, once you do it a time or too you'll remember to grab the top of the handle.\r\n\r\nOver all I'm liking it so far and think it's a great buy for the price. I wouldn't let the downsides I listed prevent me from buying it.

Hank L
NW Mississippi
Great lathe on a budget price 2/8/2017

If upgrading from a midi lathe (12 inch Rikon) to a full size on a low budget, this is a nice lathe. I am impressed with the reeves drive and the digital read-out. I understand that the reeves drive requires a different attitude in switching speeds - i.e. don't yank it, I can change speeds from 600 to 2800 in about 4 to 6 seconds, and back down in about the same. I really like not having to change belts for speed changes, and at a decent budget price too. One thing I am used to on my Rikon is a locking pin for adding or taking off the face plate or chuck. But, I have adapted to using a wrench already on the G0462.

It has plenty of power for me - after using the 12" Rikon for 10 years. I have not tried an outboard turning yet. While it is heavy enough that it needs two people to set it up (unless you are a 250/300 lb muscle man) it is still on the light side for 16" and larger turnings. It needs to be bolted down for sure.

(I have only had this for 6 weeks and been using it for 2 weeks at the time of this review.)

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Nice lathe 2/9/2017

I bought this Lathe back in November and really didn't get a chance to use it until after the holidays. It's been working great for what I am doing(making bowls). I would like to have a little slower speed option at times but it hasn't been a problem. When you are turning small spindle stuff, the tool rest is a little awkward to get positioned and a narrower tool rest helps with that. A no frills tool that gets the job done. For a basic Lathe at this price point, this thing is awesome!