×
Animation for G0555
×
Your Cart ×
Estimated Total: Checkout Now
Item #: G0555
Model # G0555
Overview

A high-quality bandsaw for home and small shops, the G0555 offers incredible quality at an unbeatable price.

You won't find a bandsaw that offers a greater "bang for the buck" than the G0555. The G0555 bandsaw runs very quietly and cuts accurately. The bandsaw has not only the power to do crosscuts and resaw on even thick hardwoods, but also curves, circles and decorative scroll cuts. (If you plan to do a lot of resawing, the G0555XH has larger 1 3/4 HP motor, 12" resaw capacity and included resaw fence.)

With a cast iron frame and heavy duty stand, this bandsaw operates with minimal vibration allowing for precision cutting. the three ball bearing rollers on each blade guide assembly are quick to adjust - including the lower blade guide. Table tilts up to 45 degrees to the right and up to 15 degrees to the left. Adjustment is easy and accurate.

The G0555 is easy to set up. The cast iron table is well machined with a smooth ground top finish. The extruded aluminum miter features a heavy angle adjustment knob that doubles as a push stick. The fence is designed for quick and easy attachment and removal from the rails and has a magnified cursor scale for fast accurate adjustments. Guides are simple to adjust.

If you haven't wired your shop for 220V yet, the G0555 can plug into a standard wall receptacle. If your shop runs 220, simply swap out the plug to take advantage of your more efficient power source. Either way, you will find that the G0555 has plenty of power and won't bog down even when cutting hardwoods.

No tools are required to access the wheels or the blade. With one swing of a lever, the quick release blade tensioner drops the upper wheel allowing easy blade replacement. The table is slotted to allow the blade to be removed.

The G0555 comes with a 1 year warranty and technical support is US based. Parts and replacement blades are available on-line and shipped from our Missouri warehouse in Missouri.

The G0555 is made in an ISO 9001 Factory. CSA certified in accordance with C22.2 #71.2-10 and UL 987-7th standards.

Features & Specifications
  • 1HP motor, pre-wired 110V / 220V compatible, single-phase (11A at 110V, 5.5A at 220V)
  • Max cutting height: 6"
  • Cutting capacity at throat: 13-1/2"
  • All ball bearing construction w/ Upper & lower ball-bearing blade guides
  • Includes 3/8" blade, extruded aluminum fence and miter gauge
  • Heavy-duty stand & cast-aluminum wheels w/rubber tires
  • Cast-iron frame 4" x 14" table
  • Quick-release blade tension lever
  • Fence scale w/ magnifying window
  • 4" dust port
  • Table tilt: 45 deg. right, 15 deg. Left
  • Floor to table height: 43-5/16"
  • Blade size: 92-1/2" to 93-1/2" (1/8" to 3/4" wide)
  • Blade speeds: 1500 & 3200 FPM
  • Overall size: 26-3/8"W x 66-1/2"H x 30-1/4"D
  • Approx. shipping weight: 199 lbs.
  • Reviews

    74 Customer Reviews (4.9 out of 5 stars) : Sign in to write a review

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Great packaging 05/17/2019 1:27:49 AM

    My Bandsaw was delivered today. The packaging was top notch. I have not assembled it yet, but if the packaging is a representation of the performance, Im gonna love it. I will update after I assemble it.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Very satisfied. 05/12/2019 12:40:58 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    02/25/2019 4:08:01 PM

    I am very happy. I have been in the construction industry for over 35 years, but have had little experience with band saws. I can tell that this is a very good quality tool and look forward to the many things I will build using this band saw. I have only had it for 4-5 weeks. So, I still have a lot to learn about the actual use and capabilities of this saw. I am glad I paid up in this newest addition to my modest personal shop. I know I will be happy with this purchase for many years to come.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    02/20/2019 1:22:26 AM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    02/07/2019 12:50:06 AM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    02/06/2019 7:04:13 PM

    Excellent product and Customer Service.

    Shipping issues caused receipt of initial purchase to arrive damaged. Grizzly was on it and did everything they could to remedy the situation.

    Will continue to purchase from them in the near future.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    02/02/2019 4:18:24 PM

    I bought this about a month ago and very pleased with it. I had an issue with a damaged part and it was handled very well. Everyone was very concerned that the issue was resolved as soon as possable. Very satisfying to have people who are dedicated to makeing sure you are completely satisfied. Thank you. Would like a catalog

    Anonymous Reviewer
    14" Bandsaw 01/21/2019 12:48:48 PM

    I received my order within a week with no problems. Unboxed it and put it all together in less than an hour. No hardware was missing which made assembly easy. The only difficulty I had was cleaning the rust preventer off the table. It had dried on it, which I have not ran into that before, but I put some go-jo on a rag and it came right off and looks perfect.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    So far seems like a very good saw. 01/20/2019 2:29:38 PM

    I've had the G0555 saw for a few weeks and have done a couple of small projects. Set up was easy because I used a hoist to set the saw on stand.
    So far so good. I put a better blade on it and that was an improvement. There was some hidden damage by UPS freight that doesn't effect the operation of the saw. Looks like they stacked something heavy on the saw carton. The saw was packed well but not well enough to defeat a freight company.

    Thomas M
    Nice unit, nice price. Go ahead and treat yourself to a great machine. 01/18/2019 12:03:37 AM

    I'm 68 years old and have tons of woodworking tools and machines. But I never had a bandsaw, until now. I can't believe that I waited this long to put a relatively inexpensive and highly productive tool like this in my shop. I won't be without one again. This is a nice unit that has everything you need in a smaller scale. Its a handy size that can easily be moved around the shop. Arrives with cord and plug, ready to use after setup. Shipping crate was adequate, assembly was pretty easy. It's too heavy for one person to pick up and put on the stand, but two might do it. I was alone, so I assembled it laying down and then stood it up by myself. Overall quality seems fine. The blade is kind of crappy, but I understand most serious woodworkers like to order higher quality blades anyway. Instructions for tuning the saw are adequate, even for a first-timer. I shopped the used market hard online, but the savings for a beat up used saw did not justify buying used over new, It's a pleasure to buy and use nice tools. This is my third major machine from Grizzly and I have not been disappointed.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Extremely pleased 01/17/2019 11:01:07 PM

    I purchased this saw for my home/hobbyist workshop. I was very impressed with the quality of the construction, packaging, and accessories. I've used the saw several times since purchase and it cuts great, very powerful, no issues. Would definitely recommend to others...great saw/value for the money.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    01/10/2019 4:03:15 PM

    My wife got this for my Christmas. Great product with lots of features for a very reasonable price!

    Mason
    Good for the money 01/10/2019 2:37:16 AM

    I bought this saw because it was fairly priced and got good reviews. So far I'm glad I made the purchase. Assembly was pretty simple took maybe an hour and set up took a few more hours. All bandsaws take time to set up properly though. Only complaint I have and it's minor is the blade that comes with it is poor quality. I replaced the blade and have a very straight cutting saw for a fair price.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Great bandsaw 01/02/2019 10:00:00 PM

    I've only used the bandsaw a few times but so far I am very pleased with it's performance and quality construction.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    01/02/2019 12:39:53 PM

    Got this bandsaw3 weeks ago, as a replacement bandsaw. I have been very satisfied with the quality, workmanship and performance!

    Rod D
    01/01/2019 2:40:00 AM

    Yes, I am happy with my 14" band saw! it shipped on time and was not damaged in anyway. Set up was quite easy and without issue, just a few adjustments with the blade guides. I have allready used the machine quite a bit and am happy with it, Thank You

    Anonymous Reviewer
    12/15/2018 11:05:18 PM

    The quality and craftsmanship is superior to what I expected and the final price was even much less than what I expected. The one problem with the on/off switch was easily resolved and the after-purchase help was very satisfactory. I look forward to a wonderful relationship with my new Grizzly band saw.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Professional Service 12/14/2018 2:08:35 AM

    I am familiar with this saw from many years of using them at work. We cut aluminum from 3/16 up to 3/4 without difficulty, using a nonferrous saw blade.Its also a great price on a great saw that nobody has been able to kill even with daily use. It was a natural go to for me when I wanted a saw that could cut aluminum parts for fabrication. It doesnt run slow enough to cut steel but thats not what I bought it for. Grizzly does a great job with their band saws and this is no exception. Great quality! Looking forward to years of use.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Excellent saw 12/13/2018 1:54:29 PM

    This is my second bandsaw and it is head over heels better than the WEN I had. I have no issues with this saw and would recommend this to a friend or relative.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    12/12/2018 10:18:00 PM

    I bought this about a month ago. I've done a couple projects and it works like a champ. Very happy with this purchase. I'm going to be getting some additional blades for tighter cuts, but I have no complaints about the saw itself. I'd gladly buy from Grizzly again.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Great Buy 11/01/2018 11:36:49 AM

    A good value and delivery was on time .
    Assembly went smoothly
    HH

    Rick
    05/24/2018 1:04:47 PM

    Im setting up a new work shop. The saw is perfect in every way and was delivered 4 days after order

    William H
    Nice and smooth 05/10/2018 5:22:18 PM

    Has been a great addition to my shop! Other than the two issues with shipping, it's been a great experience. I would have appreciated more issue resolution, or even a blade package would have been greatly appreciated for the weeks of lost work, caused by your carrier!

    Fred M
    Love it 04/05/2018 10:33:37 PM

    This was my first bandsaw purchase. I read a lot of reviews before I settled on this one. It came packaged well and was fairly simple to assemble. The blade that came with it is not anything special, so I ordered a 3 pack from timberwolf. So far no complaints. A little fine tuning on guide rollers and it runs quiet and smooth

    Peter K
    Buy it! 03/22/2018 3:00:23 PM

    This has to be the best buy on the market. I looked at six different machines and decided on this one. It is extremely quiet and well-built! It was easy to assemble and just a few minutes minutes of adjusting the blade tension I was up and running. This machine has already paid for itself by increasing our production.

    James C
    03/07/2018 12:52:44 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    A Fine Bandsaw 03/04/2018 1:52:28 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Nice product 01/28/2018 11:41:20 AM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    01/13/2018 2:32:54 AM

    I am very pleased with my saw. You can tell it is very well made and I am looking forward to using it for a long happy time!

    John H
    Even Better than Expected 12/28/2017 6:00:29 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Great machine! 12/01/2017 11:17:15 AM

    It is everything I wanted in a band saw, great machine!

    Anonymous Reviewer
    11/17/2017 12:08:40 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    11/03/2017 5:46:25 PM

    To me, it's the Porsche of Band-saw's !
    ------^v^v-------------------> Peter Norman Nystrom

    Anonymous Reviewer
    11/01/2017 1:00:20 PM

    I bought this band saw for re-sawing purposes and it delivers on all aspects. The factory blade was a little sub par but after installing a $40 blade, this saws power really shines. 12 inch wet black walnut logs are no match for this saw. Next up is a Grizzly thickness planer. Thanks

    Daniel A
    Works great love it. 10/26/2017 9:10:09 PM

    No feedback given

    Alan B
    Good machine for the price. 09/13/2017 12:45:02 PM

    Works as it should, although parts of the stand were damaged prior to packaging and shipment. Specifically, there was a saw cut in the base of the stand and the area around this cut was bent including the plate for one of the feet. Further the paint on parts of of the base were scraped and chipped.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    08/18/2017 9:46:01 PM

    Worked great for a while. Then the two all threads with nut that screw into the top block with spindle fell out. They are only tapped about 2 threads deep and had been locked in with what looks like epoxy. The all thread pulled the epoxy out, it didn't unscrew. The block is thick enough for adequate thread depth but obviously someone took a shortcut in making the part. When this happened blade came off, jumped off guides, and will not track any longer. I will try to re-drill and tap but the part is hardened so we'll see how it goes.
    Not happy camper at this time.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    08/13/2017 7:41:31 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Great saw 08/11/2017 2:49:53 PM

    Everything as expected but was missing a few bolts so I can't go 5 stars for that reason

    Jeff B
    08/05/2017 2:53:12 PM

    I had been using a very old 12" band saw in need of repair. I knew i was upgrading, but this saw exceeded even what i'd hoped for. Clear directions (i love owner's manuals) and easy set-up. Runs quiet and smooth. Highly recommend.

    Warren J
    Great Bandsaw 08/02/2017 10:17:29 AM

    Works just fine. Does exactly what I bought it for.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    07/29/2017 1:06:27 AM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    07/20/2017 6:50:03 PM

    No feedback given

    Michael S
    Quality product 07/13/2017 5:31:47 PM

    Had this for a couple of weeks...it has sped up several of my projects significantly!
    Product was delivered quicker than expected, packaged very nicely, and assembly was straight forward.
    Spend some time tuning and you wont be disappointed.

    Tom N
    Great bandsaw 07/05/2017 11:01:08 PM

    Great bandsaw, very easy to put together. The adjustments you can make on it are simple and thorough. Works much better than my old Delta bandsaw and much quieter.
    Only concern is that you are forced to pay the $40 or what it was for delivery on a truck that has a lift gate. Problem was I paid but it was delivered without a lift gate so we had to lift it out of the truck. The driver noted it on the receipt but I haven't heard or seen a refund. Hopefully grizzly will come through since I enjoy their service and tools.

    William P
    Great Starter Bandsaw 07/05/2017 12:01:43 PM

    This is a good starter saw (my fist). The container arrived looking a little worse for wear, but the machine was just fine. The instruction manual provided made set up a breeze. From unboxing to first cut took maybe 2 hours.

    I recommend buying additional blades with purchase, the one it comes with is garbage, like trying to cut wood with a string. Other than that, great starter saw for the price, it has served me well thus far and will continue to do so.

    Mike R
    Great bandsaw 06/30/2017 4:10:10 PM

    I was looking at several saws, decided on this one. Have been real happy with my choice. It's built well, was easy to assemble and runs smooth.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    06/07/2017 5:50:39 PM

    No feedback given

    Daniel F
    06/06/2017 12:45:34 PM

    No feedback given

    Brian V
    06/05/2017 2:05:40 AM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Great Saw 06/03/2017 6:48:06 PM

    This is a great saw. Couldn't bring myself to buy a little one from the box store. Didn't need a $1200 one. This does more than I'll likely ever need and it does it very well and at a great price.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Great machine 06/02/2017 9:54:18 PM

    No feedback given

    larry G
    Its a beast 06/02/2017 1:20:32 PM

    I bought this three months ago. It took a few hours to get it up and running. But, man it was worth it. The machine is a beast. It has handled everything i have thrown at it with out bogging down at all. Very powerful. The fence system is a dream and provides for very accurate cuts w/out drift. Love this bandsaw and highly recommend it for anyone needing a solid product and does not have deep pockets. I am very pleased.

    Ken G
    05/30/2017 10:53:30 AM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Super bandsaw 05/24/2017 2:24:05 PM

    I bought the G0555 Ultimate band saw. It work great. I showed it to my brother and he is seriously thinking about buying one for himself. That it if I can get him to quit using mine.

    William R
    Great bandsaw 05/18/2017 10:46:57 AM

    I'm very happy with my bandsaw. I use it now more than my table saw. It's easy to use.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Wow! Soo Glad I Did This! 05/12/2017 12:29:31 PM

    I had an old cheap bandsaw for many years that I only used for simple small cuts because I really couldn't rely on it to give a clean straight cut. This is the second most expensive tool in my woodshed (table Saw most expensive) and I do not regret the decision at all. I have discovered all the great things you can make and the utility of a good bandsaw. I am so impressed with the quality. This will be something I will pass down to my son for him to use for many years after I am gone. I've made a couple of blade changes and am soo impressed with how easy it is. The Grizzly videos are fantastic! I was really worried about the delivery, but it turned out great! I would definitely purchase the lift gate option when you place your order if you live in a residential area. The box is big and bulky. I did need another person to help lift the bandsaw out of the packaging and onto the platform. I am a sizable individual and can lift heavy weight (thought 200lbs would be no problem), but the bandsaw is really bulky and doesn't really have a great place for one person to grab and move. Peace of cake for two people!! I have had saw for little less then a month and would buy again and am recommending it to my other friends who do woodworking too! They of course want to use mine!

    Alan N
    05/12/2017 4:16:06 AM

    Very happy with the bandsaw, the quality is very good. My only complaint is the packaging for shipping. You need to lose the styrofoam. I had to pay ten bucks to get rid of it. There must be a packing product that is made from a paper or cardboard product that is recycleable.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    05/07/2017 11:06:50 PM

    great directions,smooth cutting. great quality. I make wood toys for sale. Paid for the saw the first week.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    05/03/2017 11:08:08 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    04/13/2017 10:33:59 PM

    No feedback given

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Good buy 02/23/2017 8:22:18 PM

    I've enjoyed making about 30 bandsaw boxes with the 14" Grizzly. The tension release lever works well and tracking is reliable. It makes compound cuts through 5" thick mahogany without hesitation.

    steve
    Wonderful Saw 02/02/2017 4:11:39 AM

    The saw is great. I have enjoyed using it and look forward to many years of use.

    Wayne S
    Sweet 01/28/2017 7:59:19 PM

    This is one sweet band saw. Anyone who has ever used a band saw would be very impressed with this saw. Well built with smooth operation. The re-saw fence is built with a serious woodworker in mind. The set up was simple and went quickly. Changing blades is easy and has all settings that are required for use of a variety of blade sizes. I will be putting this machine through the paces and I am sure it will stand up to my needs. Good looking too !!

    Peter O
    Bandsaw 01/26/2017 6:36:33 PM

    Great product!! Well made and at a good price. I have several Grizzly products and I highly recommend them and their service.

    joseph B
    great saw 01/26/2017 3:25:49 AM

    the go555 really works great and is very sturdy.i had it assembled in less than an hour the directions were simple and straightforward.if there is one thing that could be better it would be the wheels.i had to place a couple washers on the bottom wheel.

    Anonymous Reviewer
    Cant say enough! 01/26/2017 3:11:49 AM

    Powerful, quiet, extremely true cutting! Best band saw I ever used!

    Cuttin It Close
    Great band saw!, 11/08/2016 11:17:09 PM

    My saw was delivered today. UPS showed up earlier than I expected which was alright by me. The instructions to assemble were on point and easy to use. Didn't take long and I was in business. Cuts great and very quiet. I have several projects and can't wait to get started.

    waiting_for _CRX
    Great packaging and assembly 10/18/2016 4:39:54 AM

    The only problem I had was delivery. The shipper wasn't set up to bring it to my home so I went to the trucking terminal. The next day, I took it out of my car piece by piece so I could get it to the basement with me and my daughter. Not a big deal. The instructions were perfect....as good as I've seen. First thing I did was rip a 4x4 into about 1/8 strips with the stock blade, The surface looked lousy (not really the right blade for the job, but the thickness was uniform from the first cut to last. Hopefully, it keeps humming along, but, honestly, going through the assy work taught me a lot about setting up a bandsaw properly. Nicely done, Grizzly!

    miketitan
    Great saw! 10/08/2015 8:41:27 PM

    Saw was easy to put together and set up. Love how it works and next time I need a tool I'm looking at Grizzly.

    M.Bennett
    Customer Review 01/01/2015 4:50:33 PM

    I purchased the G0555 Band saw in January and I am another satisfied customer. The saw is great! It is a fine piece of machinery. The set-up was easy. The instructions were clear and concise. The operation of the machine is perfect. It is also a quiet machine. I can listen to my radio while using the saw!

    I use it for cabinet making. The table and fence are sturdy. The on and off switch is intelligently located in an intuitive position. The re-saw capability is impressive. It cuts hardwoods without difficulty.

    I heartily encourage anyone who is in the market for a band saw to look no further than Grizzly. I plan on making a pilgrimage to your showroom in Missouri. (Yep, I am a convert to Grizzly equipment!).

    Thank you for making quality products.

    A. Daedelow
    Customer Review 01/01/2015 4:48:36 PM

    I just wanted to take a moment to commend Grizzly for not only putting out a great product line but for also providing the very best in customer service.

    I ordered the G0555, Ultimate 14" Bandsaw from you and had it in my workshop in less than a week. Not only did it arrive in perfect condition, it arrived packaged in a way that made it easy to assemble.

    Now for the saw itself. Wow! What a product. After some very easy adjustments this saw performs as advertised. Granted, I'm not Mr. Woodworker but I have been enjoying woodworking for many years and this bandsaw makes cuts so much easier and is 100% accurate. I highly recommend this saw to those who desire and are in the market for a 14" bandsaw. You certainly won't be disappointed and the price can't be beat.

    Again, thank you so much for a great buying experience. I am pleased to say, "You now have a customer for life".

    P. Hay
    Customer Review 01/01/2015 4:46:41 PM

    I wanted to yet you know that my recent order of a 14" bandsaw arrived in 100% perfect condition. The packing was outstanding. The UPS Ground trucking company delivered on time and with a smile. I recommend Grizzly to all my woodworking friends.

    K. Szpond
    Customer Review 01/01/2015 4:43:38 PM

    I received your saw and set it up over the weekend, and am impressed. Compared to my table saw, this is a piece of fine machinery, just like it says on the box. All the directions were clear and set up was intuitive, very happy with your product. I haven't set up the 12 inch extension yet, but expect that to be as easy as the rest.

    Many thanks for a fine engineered product.

    Q & A

    Common Questions and Answers about the G0555:

    Q: What are the key differences between the various G0555 Series machines?

    A:Aside from paint color and labeling, the G0555 and G0555P are identical machines; they are equipped with a 1 HP motor, aluminum wheels, manually-adjustable guide post, extruded aluminum fence, and open-style stand. The G0555X was built with the same basic design as the G0555/G0555P, but it is equipped with a 1.5 HP motor, cast-iron wheels, manually-adjustable guide post, a cabinet-style stand, a worklight, and a cast-iron fence with optional resaw fence attachment. The G0555LX and G0555LANV, aside from appearances, are also identical machines; however, they are built from a different design than the G0555/G0555P, so very few parts are interchangeable. The G0555LX and G0555LANV are equipped with a 1 HP motor, cast-iron wheels, extruded aluminum fence, rack-and-pinion adjustable guide post, open-style stand, and a padlock for the ON/OFF switch.

    Q: What is needed for converting this machine to 220V?

    A:First, review the circuit requirements in the Owner's Manual to make sure you have the appropriate 220V power supply circuit and wall receptacle installed in your shop. Converting the machine to 220V involves (1) disconnecting saw from power supply, (2) cutting off existing power cord plug, (3) reconfiguring wire connections inside the motor junction box, and (4) installing the appropriate 220V plug (see Owner's Manual for full details). CAUTION: To reduce the risk of electrocution or fire, only an electrician or qualified service personnel should perform this procedure.

    Q: What is CSA? What does "CSA Certified" mean?

    A:CSA (Canadian Standards Association) is an organization based out of Canada that is very similar to UL (Underwriters Laboratory) in the USA. Like UL, CSA provides two primary services. First, they develop Canada's minimum standards for the design, construction, and safety of a wide variety of products that are commercially sold in that country. These standards are completely voluntary and not a requirement for all products sold in Canada. Second, CSA acts as an NRTL (Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory), which is essentially a 3rd party testing agency that has their own engineers/inspectors test and evaluate a product to ensure that it meets the requirements established in the applicable standards document for the primary market where the products are sold. In Grizzly's case, this is the USA and Canada, so many Grizzly machines are certified (usually by CSA, UL, or ETL) to meet both CSA (Canada) and UL (USA) standards. So, although CSA produces their own standards, any NRTL (such as UL, ETL, TUV, etc.) can also certify the same products to the CSA standards. The reason why one NRTL is used over another typically just boils down to a business decision by the company paying the NRTL to test/evaluate their products. An important part of any NRTL certification, besides the initial testing/evaluation, is the ongoing compliance requirements necessary to maintain the certification. This involves both regular and random product checks by the NRTL's inspectors or engineers at the factory or on the consumer level.

    Q: If I put a riser block on my bandsaw, do I lose 6" of adjustment with the blade?

    A:No, the riser block kits include a replacement guide post and blade guard, which allows the guide blocks to be adjusted within the full range of the additional 6" cutting height gained by its installation.

    FAQ

    FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions):

    Q: How do I know what type of blade I should buy?

    A:Blade choice is typically determined by the type and purpose of cut, the hardness and thickness of wood, and the desired trade-offs between cutting speed vs. cutting quality. In general, a wider blade is preferred for cutting straight lines because the blade tends to wander less, and a narrower blade is preferred for cutting curves because it has a much tighter minimum cutting radius. The two main types of blade teeth are "Hook" and "Raker". Hook teeth tend to cut faster and leave rougher results, while Raker teeth tend to cut slower and leave smoother results. There are additional types of teeth, such as Skip, Positive Claw, or AS-S, that are essentially modified versions of the Hook or Raker tooth shapes, but with slight changes to the cutting angle, gullet-to-tooth ratio, tooth set, etc. to provide unique advantages for special types of cuts.

    Q: Can a wood bandsaw cut metal or vice versa?

    A:The proper cutting speed for the majority of ferrous metals is under 300 FPM. The proper cutting speed for the majority of wood cuts is over 3000 FPM. Trying to cut metals on a wood bandsaw--at speeds 10 times faster than they should be--is dangerous and will likely result in a broken blade, damage to the bandsaw, and a really horrible cut. Cutting wood on a metal bandsaw is possible, but it would be tedious and slow, and likely would not produce a decent quality of cut. In addition, bandsaw blades for cutting wood are designed much differently than bandsaw blades for cutting metal. With that said, there are some soft, non-ferrous metals (such as aluminum) that can be cut at around 1500 FPM (if using the correct blade type). Although some of our wood bandsaws operate at approximately this same speed, the other components of these saws weren't designed to handle the metal chips and swarf that would be produced by the cut, which would likely result in minor damage to the machine and void the warranty. The bottom line is this: Always buy the right machine for the job!

    Q: What are the differences between ball bearing, block, and disc (a.k.a. "Euro style") guide blocks?

    A:The main differences between blade guide types can be boiled down to four factors: (1) amount/quality of support, (2) amount of blade friction created from that support, (3) ease of set-up and adjustment, and (4) durability and maintenance frequency. Ball-bearing guides offer the best all-around balance of these four factors. Although they don't provide as much contact area for support as block or disc guides, they do maintain constant contact with the blade without greatly increasing friction. They are also the easiest to set up and tend to be the most durable. Disc guides provide the highest amount of contact area for support, but as with guide blocks, they must be positioned 0.004" away from the blade, which requires some type of gauge to be used for proper set up. Whereas some disc guides are fixed, similar to block guides, our Euro-Style disc guides spin with blade contact, which greatly reduces friction and the need for regular resurfacing. Block guides offer excellent support, but unless they're made from specialized materials to reduce wear or friction, they tend to fall behind the other guide types in all other categories.

    Q: What type of blade do I need for resawing?

    A:Generally speaking, you'll want to use a wide blade (1/2" or larger) with "Hook" style teeth (or "Positive Claw" on Timberwolf blades) and a low number of teeth per inch (TPI). A wide blade helps ensure cuts are straight and the Hook style teeth have large gullets for removing material as the blade passes through the workpiece.

    Q: My bandsaw blade came with a tag on it that said "Recommended for cutting wood or soft non-ferrous metal." Does this mean I can cut metal with my wood bandsaw?

    A:Just because the blade is recommended for both wood and soft, non-ferrous metal (e.g. aluminum, copper, etc.), it doesn't mean your wood bandsaw is suitable for cutting both types of material. It is important to keep in mind that the blade you bought may also be used on other types of bandsaws, such as our G0640X or G0621X, which are specially designed to cut both wood and metal.

    Q: Can I still use my bandsaw without connecting it to a dust collector?

    A:Yes, this is possible, but we don't recommend it. Without using a dust collector, the dust will quickly pile up in and around your machine, resulting in additional cleaning time later. Besides making a mess, fine dust can be harmful to your respiratory system. It is a better choice to connect your bandsaw to a properly designed dust collection system that at least pulls the recommended minimum CFM from each dust port on the machine.

    Q: What is the purpose of the pin that fits in the blade slot opening at the end of the table?

    A:All bandsaw tables are inherently weaker on the outside half of the table. This is due to the slotted opening that allows the blade to pass through the table during blade changes. The table pin helps reinforce the two sides of the table around this slot, so they remain aligned with each other and keep the table flat. For this reason, it is extremely important to always keep the table pin firmly installed, unless you're changing blades.